Blog Tour, New Releases, Reviews, TBR and Beyond Blog Tour

Blog Tour – A Cursed of Gold by Annie Sullivan (Review & Favorite Quotes)

Welcome to blog tour spot for A Curse of Gold by Annie Sullivan hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours. Would like to thank the publisher and TBR and Beyond Tours for giving me the opportunity to review the second book of A Touch of Gold series.

A Curse of Gold

by Annie Sullivan

Genre: YA Fantasy Retelling

Publishing Date: September 22, 2020

Synopsis:

Curses and queens. Pirates and kings. Gods and magic. This highly anticipated sequel to Annie Sullivan’s enchanting A Touch of Gold, the story of the daughter King Midas turned to gold, is the gripping crescendo to this sweeping fantasy adventure. The final saga of a cursed queen, a vengeful Greek god, and a dazzling kingdom in the balance.

After barely surviving thieving, bloodthirsty pirates and a harrowing quest at sea to retrieve her stolen treasure, Kora finds readjusting to palace life just as deadly. Kora’s people openly turn against her, threatening her overthrow as heir to the throne—a cursed queen who has angered Dionysus. When Dionysus puts out a challenge to kill the girl with the golden touch and burn down her kingdom, it’s not just her future on the throne in danger. Kora’s life and entire kingdom are now on contract.

As bold and brave as ever, Kora sets out to find Dionysus, the very person who is trying to kill her, on the mysterious disappearing island of Jipper. Kora has no other choice. If she wants to save her kingdom and have any chance at reversing her father’s curse, she will have to enter into a deadly game with Dionysus, the greatest trickster the world, or the underworld, has ever seen.

A Curse of Gold:

Is the highly-anticipated sequel to A Touch of Gold by author Annie Sullivan

Is an enchanting and captivating fantasy adventure/fairy tale retelling, perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Cinder

Is told from the perspective of Kora, King Midas’s daughter and a strong female protagonist

Features a beautifully decorated cover.

Find the Book Here: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indigo

About the Author

Annie Sullivan is the author of the young adult novels A Touch of Gold, Tiger Queen, and A Curse of Gold. She lives in Indianapolis, Indiana, and she loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s working as the Senior Copywriter at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. She loves to hear from fans, and you can reach her via the contact form on this website or on Twitter and Instagram.

Find her here: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads

Review

Rating: 👑👑👑👑

I was looking forward to the second book in the duology because I adore the characters from A Touch of Gold. It was nice to step back into the world of King Midas and Kora.

I enjoyed A Curse of Gold and seeing the return of my favorite characters from the first book and getting new characters like Triton, son of Poseidon (he became one of my favorites).

I thought Kora grew a lot in the first book but she definitely shows more growth in this book. She goes from being a Princess who is hidden away to becoming a strong leader who doesn’t shy away from accomplishing her mission to save her people and kingdom.

If you love adventure, pirates, monsters and romance then I recommend you pickup both A Touch of Gold and A Curse of Gold.

Favorite Quotes

“Wearing the crown instead of hiding my face is just one small step to show them I won’t be ghost in the shadows anymore – that my father and I are here to rule.”

“You’re a great leader. You’re willing to face down the Great Oracle for them.”

“There will always be threats, but you’re willing to face them. Don’t forget that. Everyone wants a leader who fights for them.”

Checkout the rest of the tour for A Curse of Gold!

Tour Schedule

Enter the giveaway below:

The winner will receive a finished copy of A Touch of Gold and Tiger Queen (Open to US and Canada ONLY)!

Giveaway end date: September 28th

Giveaway

Blog Tour, Reviews, TBR and Beyond Blog Tour

Blog tour (Review + Favorite Quotes) of Shielded by Kaylynn Flanders

Welcome to my blog spot for Shielded by KayLynn Flanders hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours. I want to thank TBR and Beyond Tours and the author for the opportunity to review and share my favorite quotes from the book.

Book Information

Shielded
by KayLynn Flanders
by Delacorte Press
Publishing date: July 21st, 2020

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Synopsis:

For fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Furyborn comes a thrilling new fantasy about a kingdom ravaged by war, and the princess who might be the key to saving not only those closest to her, but the kingdom itself, if she reveals the very secret that could destroy her.

The kingdom of Hálendi is in trouble. It’s losing the war at its borders, and rumors of a new, deadlier threat on the horizon have surfaced. Princess Jennesara knows her skills on the battlefield would make her an asset and wants to help, but her father has other plans.

As the second-born heir to the throne, Jenna lacks the firstborn’s–her brother’s–magical abilities, so the king promises her hand in marriage to the prince of neighboring Turia in exchange for resources Hálendi needs. Jenna must leave behind everything she has ever known if she is to give her people a chance at peace.

Only, on the journey to reach her betrothed and new home, the royal caravan is ambushed, and Jenna realizes the rumors were wrong–the new threat is worse than anyone imagined. Now Jenna must decide if revealing a dangerous secret is worth the cost before it’s too late–for her and for her entire kingdom.

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes and Noble | Indigo

Review

Rating: 👸👸👸👸👸

*Spoiler free*

This book was good from the start to the end. I wasn’t sure about the story because I thought Jenna would turned out to be a Princess who would be selfish and not want to help save her kingdom until forced to do so. I was pleasantly surprised that Jenna was selfless Princess who wanted to help save the entire kingdom and was willing to do what her father’s has ask her (after being explained why).

I enjoy majority of the book, it was slow in the beginning but I thought the author was giving us glimpses of who Jenna was and how much she loved her family and the kingdom. It showed how much she was loyal and understood how important her brothel to Prince Enzo was to fight the evil that was trying to destroy the kingdom.

The way Flanders wrote the story kept you guessing who was the one trying to destroy the kingdom. I enjoyed how the romance between Jenna and Enzo was done and it didn’t take over the main storyline. The introduction of Turia’s family especially Enzo’s sisters was really nice especially the friendship they developed between them and Jenna.

I loved Jenna, she was a strong and skilled warrior who do anything to defeat the evil to prevent the kingdom she lives in.

Favorite Quotes

“The same magic used to gain power over others and cause suffering can be used wisely with good intentions and a pure heart.”

“My purpose was to be traded for something more useful than I could be on my own.”

“It is pur legacy to survive and protect.”

About Author

KayLynn Flanders has a degree in English Language and editing, and has been a freelance editor and book designer for over twelve years. Her debut novel, a YA fantasy, will be published by Delacorte Press (Penguin Random House) July 21, 2020. KayLynn and her family live in Utah between some mountains and a lake, and she is directionally challenged without them. She loves reading, writing, traveling, and volleyball, and thinks there’s nothing better than a spur-of-the-moment road trip.

Author Links: Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Check out the rest of the bloggers on the tour. Below is the link.

Tour Schedule

Enter the Giveaway:

Prize: One Finished Copy of Shielded by KayLynn Flanders (US only)

Start date: August 3 rd, 2020

End date: August 9th, 2020

Giveaway

Thanks for stopping and if you read Shielded what did you think?