Blog Tour, Reviews, TBR and Beyond Blog Tour

Blog Tour – Chasing Starlight by Teri Bailey Black (Review)

Welcome to my blog stop on the blog tour for Chasing Starlight by Teri Bailey Black hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours. I would like to thank TBR and Beyond Tours and the publisher the opportunity to read and give my honest review on the book. I was excited that I got pick for the tour because I really liked Girl at the Grave by Teri Bailey Black and I was looking forward to her next book.

Chasing Starlight

By Teri Bailey Black

Publisher: Tor Teen

Published Date: August 11, 2020

Genre: Young Adult Mystery/Historical Fiction

Synopsis:

Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood! Teri Bailey Black’s Chasing Starlight is a historical mystery from the award-winning author of the Thriller Award for Best Young Adult Novel.

1938. The Golden Age of Hollywood. Palm trees and movie stars. Film studios pumping ouy musicals, westerns, and gangster films at a furious pace. Everyone wants to be a star – except society girl and aspiring astronomer Kate Hildebrand, who’d rather study them in the night sky. She’s already famous after a childhood tragedy turned her into a newspaper headline. What she craves is stability.

But when Kate has to move to Hollywood to live with her washed-up silent film star grandfather, she walks into a murder scene and finds herself on the front page again. She suspects on of the young men boarding in her grandfather’s run-down mansion is the killer – maybe even her grandfather. She searches for clues.

Now, Kate must discover the killer while on the set of a musical – and falling in love. Will her stars align so she can catch the murderer and love the dream in Old Hollywood? Or will she find that she’s just chasing starlight?

Find the Book Here: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indigo

Review

Rating: 🎬🎬🎬🎬🎬

Chasing Starlight is a fun read and the murder mystery part of the book was really good in the way that the plot twist kept you guessing who was the murderer. The setting of Golden Age of Hollywood was perfect for this book. The way Teri Bailey Black wrote the book you can picture all of the scenes in Old Hollywood time and see the characters come to life. That what I enjoyed reading her books because I can visualize everything by her words.

I loved all of the characters in the books but my favorite would be Kate because you could see she was struggling with her past but she wouldn’t let it stop her from finding out who was the murderer. You could see that Kate was growing throughout the book and trying to overcame her fears at the end.

I was surprised to find out who the murderer was at the end of the book. Definitely didn’t think it was that person who did it but thinking back it did make sense that they were the one.

Definitely would recommend Chasing Starlight if you like historical fiction based in the Old Hollywood time period and like murder mysteries.

Honestly, I can’t wait to see what Teri Bailey Black writes next.

About the Author

Teri Bailey Black grew up near the beach in southern California in a large quirky family with no television or junk food, but an abundance of books and art supplies. She’s happiest when she’s creating things, whether it’s with words, fabric, or digging in the garden. She makes an amazing chocolate cherry cake – frequently. She and her husband have four children and live in Orange County.

Find the Author Here: Website | Twitter | Instagram

Checkout the other bloggers’ stops on the tour below.

Tour Schedule

Blog Tour, Reviews, The Fantastic Flying Book Club

Blog Tour: The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy (Favorite Quotes, Review & Giveaway)

Welcome to my spot on the blog tour for The Redpoint Crux by Morgan Shamy hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club.

Book Information

The Redpoint Crux

By Morgan Shamy

Publisher: The Parliament House

Release Date: June 9, 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery

Synopsis:

Fans of The Phantom of the Opera and Black Swan will enjoy this thrilling debut.

When Megan Van Helsburg gets kicked off the U.S.A. Climbing Team, she has no choice but to return home and leave her climbing but to return home and leave her climbing career behind. With no coach, no money, and no prospects, she joins the corps de ballet determined to improve her strength and agility. But the ballet theater is in dire straits. Not only do a series of murders break loose, but the ballerinas are becoming deahtly thin and brain-dead. As Megan investigates, she meets Bellamy, a tortured young man who lives beneath the depths of the theater. Megan falls hard and fast for Bellamy, who becomes her mentor, but something is off about him.

It isn’t until the company announces they’re doing Giselle for the fall performance that Megan realizes the parallels between the ghost story and the lives around her. Megan must find a way to not only save her climbing career, but balance her feelings for Bellamy, and stop the murders and dying girls before she, too, is numbered among the dead.


Review

If you are looking for a complex eerie mystery story that gives you The Phantom of Opera vibes then this book is for you. I enjoy reading a good mystery book that has some romance intertwine in the storyline. The Redpoint Crux gives this to you and more.

The story was written well that you can see all of the characters come to life and the mystery part of the story keeps you wondering what is going to happen next. The romance was not overwhelming and it was done nicely where it kept you on the edge of your seat about these two complex people.

Rating: 🎼🎼🎼🎼1/2

Author Information

Morgan Shamy is an ex-ballerina turned YA writer. She is represent by Kelly Peterson of Rees Literary Agency.

Morgan has been immersed in the arts since the young age of 4, where she trained under the tutelage of Julie and Stacey Orlob. She performed various roles alongside a professional ballet company for over seven years, and has danced on prestigious stages like soloing at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

She has taught hundreds of girls in her fifteen years of teaching, where some of her students have received full-ride scholarships to schools like School of American Ballet, the Harid Conservatory, Kirov Academy of Ballet, and Pacific Northwest Ballet, to name a few.

Morgan discovered writing when her three-year-old son was diagnosed with cancer. It was through that experience which instilled the need to share art and magic with children through words on the page. Morgan currently lives with her X-Games gold-medalist husband and four children in the cold mountains of Alaska.

Favorite Quotes

“Jagged rocks. Waves crashing. Her blue scarf tumbling through the stormy skies and escaping toward the ocean. A younger boy leaping into the waves to retrieve it for her.”

Tick tock, goes the clock “

Check out the rest of the blog tour for The Redpoint Crux.

Tour Schedule

GIVEAWAY

Prize: Win a $10 Amazon Gift card (INT)

Starts: June 3, 2020

Ends: June 17, 2020