Blog Tour, New Releases, Reviews, The Fantastic Flying Book Club

Blog Tour (Review and Favorite Quotes + Giveaway ) – The Degenerates by J. Albert Mann

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Degenerates by J. Albert Mann hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club. I was interested in reading this book and I am glad that I was given an opportunity to read the ARC, be able to participate in the blog tour.

Book Information

The Degenerates

by J. Albert Mann
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 17, 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Girl, Interrupted, this fiery historical novel follows four young women in the early 20th century whose lives intersect when they are locked up institutionalize them for life.

The Massachusetts School for the Feeble-Minded is not a happy place. The young women who are already there’s certainly don’t think so. Not Maxine, who is doing everything she can to protect her younger sister Rose in an institution wheee vicious attendants and bullying older girls treat them as the morons, imbeciles, and idiots the doctors have deemed them to be. Not Alice, either, who was left there when her brother couldn’t bring himself to support a sister with a club foot. And not London, who has just been dragged there from the best foster situation she’s ever had, thanks to one unexpected, life altering moment. Each girls is determined to change her date, no matter what it takes.

Find the Book Here: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Bookdepository | Kobo | Google Books |


Review

Rating: 💜💜💜💜

Unfortunately, my e-book copy had formatting issues which I was only able to read some of the book and get to a couple of quotes. What I was able to read I thought the book was good and get an idea that I would have enjoyed it if my copy wasn’t messed up. I will definitely buying a copy when it comes out on Tuesday. What I read, I thought the author did a good job in writing and highlighting the darkest events that were happening to young girls in the 20th century.

Favorite Quotes

“The world is going to hell in a hand basket .”

“I will bet myself a nickel that this one finds her way out of here within the week.”


About the Author

J. Albert Mann is the author of six novels for children, with S&S Athenuem Books for Young Readers set to published her next work of historical fiction about the Eugenics Movement and the rise of institutionalism in the United States. She is also the author of short stories and poems for the children featured in Highlighs for Children, where she won the Hilghlights Fiction Award, as well as the Highlights Editors’ Choice Award. She has an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts in Writing for Children and Young Adults, and is the Director of the WNDB Internship Grant Committee.

Jennifer is represented by Kerry Sparks at Levine Greenberg Rostan Literary Agency.

Find Her Here: Website | Goodreads | Instagram | Facebook |


Tour Schedule


Checkout the Giveaway for The Degenerates and enter to win!

Prize: Win (1) copy of THE DEGENERATES by J. Albert Mann (US Only)

Starts: 11 March 2020

Ends: 25 March 2020

GIVEAWAY


Please check the rest of the bloggers stop for The Degenerates!

Blog Tour, New Releases, Reviews, The Fantastic Flying Book Club

Blog Tour (Review and Favorite Quotes) – The Deep by Alma Katsu

Hello Everyone! Welcome to my blog stop for The Deep by Alma Katsu hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club. I was excited about this book because I have not read any books about the Titanic so I was really interested in this book.

Book Information

The Deep

by Alma Katsu
Publisher: Transworld Digital
Release Date: March 10th 2020

Genre: Horror, Historical Fiction, Adult

Synopsis:

Someone, or something, is haunting the Titanic.

This is the only way to explain the series of misfortunes that have plagued the passengers of the ship from the moment they set sail: mysterious disappearances, sudden deaths. Now suspended in an eerie, unsettling twilight zone during the four days of the liner’s illustrious maiden voyage, a number of the passengers – including millionaires Madeleine Astor and Benjamin Guggenheim, the maid Annie Hebbley and Mark Fletcher – are convinced that something sinister is going on . . . And then, as the world knows, disaster strikes.

Years later and the world is at war. And a survivor of that fateful night, Annie, is working as a nurse on the sixth voyage of the Titanic’s sister ship, the Britannic, now refitted as a hospital ship. Plagued by the demons of her doomed first and near fatal journey across the Atlantic, Annie comes across an unconscious soldier she recognizes while doing her rounds. It is the young man Mark. And she is convinced that he did not – could not – have survived the sinking of the Titanic . . .

Find the Book Here: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Bookdepository | Kobo | Google Books |


Review

Rating: ⛴⛴⛴⛴⛴

The story is told in multiple POV but the main story revolves around Annie Hebbley, she was a stewardess on the Titanic when it had sunk. She had survive and 4 years later she finds herself in the Britannic as a nurse during the WWI. The story goes between the events on the Titanic in flashbacks while Annie is working on Britannic which has been converted into a ship hospital that brings back memories of her time on the Titantic and meeting Mark Fletcher. Annie has connection and is pulled toward Mark and his daughter Ondine.

The story started out slow but it pickup in the second half of the book. The author introduce supporting characters who were real life passengers of the Titanic which made the storyline interesting. The book gives the readers in the first half background of Annie, Mark Fletcher and his wife and why they came to be on the Titantic.

I enjoyed the book with its historical story with paranormal mix into it. It kept the story going and I didn’t expect the story to end the way it did. I becams invested in the story and wanting to know what would happen to everyone on the Britannic.

Favorite Quotes

“For a momeny, the falling feels like something else entirely – like a brief, wild glimpse of freedom.”

“But there is something in her that is hospitable to madness.”

“The call of the void.”

“Something terrifying, some buried, rotting truth that wiggles its way in the core of her, like maggots eating a carcass.”


About the Author

Alma Katsu is the author of The Hunger, a re-imagining of the story of the Donner Party with a horror twist. The Hunger made NPR’s list of the 100 Best Horror Stories, was named one of the best novels of 2018 by the Observer, Barnes & Noble, Powell’s Books (and more), and was nominated for a Stoker and Locus Award for best horror novel.

The Taker, her debut novel, has been compared to the early works of Anne Rice and Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander for combining historical, the supernatural, and fantasy into one story. The Taker was named a Top Ten Debut Novel of 2011 by Booklist, was nominated for a Goodreads Readers Choice award, and has been published in over 10 languages. It is the first in an award-winning trilogy that includes The Reckoning and The Descent.

Ms. Katsu lives outside of Washington DC with her husband, musician Bruce Katsu. In addition to her novels, she has been a signature reviewer for Publishers Weekly, and a contributor to the Huffington Post. She is a graduate of the Johns Hopkins Writing Program and Brandeis University, where she studied with novelist John Irving. She also is an alumni of the Squaw Valley Community of Writers.

Prior to publication of her first novel, Ms. Katsu had a long career in intelligence, working for several US agencies and a think tank. She currently is a consultant on emerging technologies. Additional information can be found on Wikipedia and in this interview with Ozy.com.

Find Her Here: Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Pinterest |


Tour Schedule


Checkout the Giveaway for The Deep and enter to win!

Prize: Win a finished copy of THE DEEP by Alma Katsu (US Only)

Starts: 10th March 2020

Ends: 24th March 2020

GIVEAWAY


Please check the rest of the bloggers stop for The Deep!