Blog Tour, New Releases, Promo, TBR and Beyond Blog Tour

Blog Tour for Quiet No More by Nikki Barthelmess (Promo & Giveaway)

Welcome to my blog stop on the blog tour for Quiet No More by Nikki Barthelmess. The tour is hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours.

Quiet No More

Publishing Date: 13 October 2020

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Synopsis:

College freshman Victoria Parker is trying to move on with her life after surviving sexual assault by her father and six months in foster care. She’s focusing on the positives – attending college, living on her own, repairing old relationships and making new ones, and getting involved with an abuse survivors activist group on campus. But everything’s thrown into disarray when a strange woman shows up, claiming to be Victoria’s aunt and asking Victoria to lie about what happened to her. With her father’s sentencing in a few months, she’s nervous about having to share the truth of what happened with a judge. She’s not even sure if she has the strength to go through with it. But when her fellow club members begin pressuring her to speak out, Victoria has to decide how to share her story while remaining true to herself.

Find the Book Here: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indigo

About the Author

Nikki Barthelmess is an author of young adult books, including THE QUIET YOU CARRY, QUIET NO MORE (October 13, 2020), and EVERYTHING WITHIN AND IN BETWEEN ( HarperChildren’s, Fall 2021). Nikki entered foster care in Nevada at twelve and spent the next six years living in six different towns. During this time, Nikki found solace in books, her journal, and the teachers who encouraged her as a writer. A graduate of the University of Nevada, Nikki lives in Santa Barbara with her family.

Find Her Here: Website | Twitter | Instagram

Please check out the rest of the blogger spots on the tour. Below is the tour schedule.

Tour Schedule

Also check out the Bookstagram tour, below is link.

Bookstagram Tour

There is a chance to win a final copy of The Quiet You Carry and Quiet No More. This is a US only giveaway! The giveaway ends on September 8th. Link is below.

Giveaway

Blog Tour, Reviews, The Fantastic Flying Book Club

Blog Tour ( Giveaway, Review & Favorite Quotes) – Lie to Me by Kaitlin Ward

Hello! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Lie to Me by Kaitlin Ward. The tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

I am excited to share my review and favorite quotes. Thank you to FFBC for giving me an opportunity to be part of the tour.

Lie To Me

By Kaitlin Ward

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Release Date: January 7th, 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Synopsis:

Ever since Amelia woke up in the hospital, recovering from a near-death fall she has no memory of, she’s been suspicious. Her friends, family, and doctors insist it was an accident, but Amelia is sure she remembers being pushed. Then another girl is found nearby – one who fell, but didn’t survive. Amelia’s fears suddenly feel very real, and with the help of her new boyfriend, Liam, she tries to investigate her own horrific ordeal. But what is she looking for, exactly? And how can she tell who’s trustworthy, and who might be – must be – lying to her?

The closer Amelia gets to the truth, the more terrifying her once orderly, safe world becomes. She’s determined to know what happened, but if she doesn’t act fast, her next accident might be her last.

Find It: Goodreads, Amazon, Bookdepository, B&N, Kobo, iBooks, IndieBound


Review

Rating: 💜💜💜💜

Lie To Me is perfect teens/pre-teens readers because it has mystery/thriller, romance, representation of mental illness and discovering sexuality.

Here are pros and cons of the novel that I enjoyed and didn’t.

Pros:

Relationship between Amelia and her brother Hunter. Also, her relationship with her parents were strong and you can tell that they were supportive.

Representation of depression and mental illness was addressed in the book really well.

Representation of bisexuality and detailed description of Amelia trying to figure out how she was figuring was done great. It was refreshing to see it done well.

Overall, the book was good, fun and easy read. I got it done in two days.

Cons

I would have like more on mystery/thriller portion of the story play out better.

Less concentration on the romance between Amelia and Liam.

Favorite Quotes

“Yeah, it’s just this one problem about how big an area will be hit by the nuclear meltdown when you inevitably start dating him and your brother finds out.”

“Oh, come on.” She squeezes my arm. “You know I’m just teasing. But he is hot, and you’ve run into him twice in one day. It almost feels like fate.” “Twice in one day at the school we both go to”, I say dryly. “It’s like a rom-com.”

“Personally, I like to take satisfaction from all levels of victory. It’s really just an opportunity to brag about how great you are; you don’t need to mention the part about unworthy your opponent was.”

“And, I realize, I might want to be his person who cares. I don’t feel bad about that, though. Not at all.”

“As soon as I say it, I want to pull the words back down my throat because calling someone perfect on a first date is so incredibly dorky.”


About the Author

Kaitlin Ward grew up on a dairy farm in a tiny New Hampshire town, the same town where she lives now with her husband and son. She studied animal science at Cornell University and cofounded the well-known blog YA Highway. She is also the author of Where She Fell, Girl in a Bad Place, and Bleeding Earth. Find her on Twitter at @Kaitlin_Ward.

Find Kaitlin here: Goodreads, Website, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Facebook

Check out all of the rest of the blog tour for this awesome book!

Tour Schedule

Please enter the giveaway (below link) to get chance to win 1 finished copy of Lie To Me. (US only)

GIVEAWAY

Start: January 13, 2020

Ends: January 17, 2020

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to check out the other bloggers tour post s and enter to win!

Blog Tour, Reviews, The Fantastic Flying Book Club

Blog Tour (Review & Favorite Quotes) – Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen

Hello! Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen. The tour is being hosted by Fantastic Flying Book Club.

I am excited to share my review and favorite quotes. This was the first time I read anything from Abigail and I heard some amazing things about the book so I was happy that Fantastic Flying Book Club gave me the opportunity to be part of the blog tour.

Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei #1)

By Abigail Hing Wen

Publisher: HarperCollins

Release Date: January 7th, 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Travel, Asian Literature

Synopsis:

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine – and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring scared shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules – but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

Find It: Goodreads, Amazon, Bookdepository, B&N, Kobo, iTunes, Google Books


Review

Rating: 💜💜💜💜💜

I don’t usually read contemporary novels because I have never found ones that kept my interest to continue to read them before but this year I have found several books that I really enjoy and Loveboat, Taipei is one of those books.

Loveboat, Taipei is about self-discovery from all of the characters but mostly Ever Wong. She was forced to go a summer camp in Taiwan, her parents sent her there so that she could learn Mandarin to be better prepare for college to become a doctor. Even though Ever doesn’t want to become a doctor, she wants to go to school for dancing but to honor her parents tradition she is foregoing her dreams. Ever isn’t the only one who struggling with going after what they are truly want in life or do what their parents’ and tradition want them to do.

I thought that the characters were well-developed, Wen wrote them so that we can feel their angst, tension, see the sacrifices their families, and their struggles coming to term on what they want to do and what tradition dictates for them throughout the book. Loveboat, Taipei is an relate-able to all readers that struggle with what expectations their families want for them and finding out who they are truly want. All of the characters show a lot of growth from when they first came to camp and when they left especially Ever.

Loveboat, Taipei being Wen’s debut novel, it was a really good debut. I am looking forward to see what else Wen comes out with.

Favorite Quotes

“He’s tall and leanly buff – I’ve never seen a real-life guy with so much prime real estate in arm muscles.”

“It’s that six-degrees of separation thing. Only for Chinese Americans, it’s like, two degrees, know what I mean?”

“In the mall back home, heads sometimes turned when I walked by with my family, but now, my Asian-Americanness is invisible, erased like a shaken Etch A Sketch. It’s an unexpected relief.

“Nerd camp with Wong-family level regulations. Everything about the Dragon – including her Hokkien accent and short, permed hair – reminds me of Mom.”

“As I lunge and whirl my bo staff, dancing to the ancient drum beats, I feel all the parts of myself coming together: glad that a part of me is Chinese, a part of me is American, and all of me is simply me.”

“We are powerful. We can be anymore we want to be – daughters, sons, mothers, fathers, citizens, human beings. We showed Taipei that tonight. And in the days to come, we will show the world.”


About the Author

Abigail was born in West Virginia to a family of immigrants: Her mother is from the Philippines and her father from Indonesia, and her grandparents emigrated to those countries from Fujian and Shandong provinces in China.

Abigail grew up in Ohio and graduated from Harvard University and Columbia Law School. She worked in Washington DC for the Senate, as a law clerk for a federal judge, and now in Silicon Valley in venture capital and artificial intelligence. She also earned her Master of Fine Arts in Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts.

In her spare time, she enjoys long walks with her husband and two boys, and hanging out with friends and over 100 family members in the Bay Area. She loves music and dances to it when no one is watching.

Find Abigail here: Goodreads, Website, Twitter, Instagram

Check out all of the rest of the blog tour for this awesome book!

Tour Schedule

Please enter the giveaway (below link) to get chance to win 1 of 2 copies of LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI by Abigail Hing Wen (US only).

GIVEAWAY

Start: January 1, 2020

Ends: January 15, 2020

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to check out the other bloggers tour post s and enter to win!