Blog Tour, New Releases, Reviews

Blog Tour (Giveaway) – Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan Review & Creative Post

First, I would like to wish Annie Sullivan a happy book birthday on release of Tiger Queen!

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan. The tour is being hosted by Fantastic Fantasy Book Club.

By Annie Sullivan

Publisher: BLINK

Release Date: September 10, 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance

Synopsis:

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will detour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Find It: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

Review

Rating: 🐅🐅🐅🐅🐅

This story wasn’t what I was expecting, I was surprised to find the darker to be a little darker that I thought it would be but I like it. Since, I love A Touch of Gold by Annie I was hoping it would be in the same writing style and pace which it was.

The story is told by Kateri who is princess who lost her mother and sibling by murdered done by the Desert Boys at a young age. Her father not having male heir, needed to trained Kateri to fight for her place to lead the people of Achra. The way she would herself to be chosen by the Desert to the rightful leader of the kingdom was she had to go through trails to fight against male opponents who fight her to take her rightful place as leader. During all of this her people and kingdom is suffering for a drought and her father’s Had to restrict the water rations from his people.

Not only was Achra was suffering a drought, the king was fighting against the Desert Boys who were stealing from wells and supposedly draining them dry which cause the king to be stricter with the water rations which was causing more suffering for the people. Kateri had hatred for the Desert Boys because she was told by her father that they murdered her mother and her sibling which is something we find early in the story. Kateri disappoints her father after one of her matches because she gets weapon b the opponent even though she won the match, her father see it as weakeness against himself and his bloodline so he announced her next opponent and potential husband to be her trainer Rodric who is not a really nice person. I actually really dislike him and her father. So, Kateri seeks out the leader of the Desert Boys Cion to help trained to fight against Rodric. Without going into spoiler, basically Kateri finds out things are not what they seem in Achra and she has to figure out who she can really trust.

I think the description of the fighting scenes and the world building was done well in the book. Overall, it was good story and honestly I did not realize it was retelling because I never read The Lady, or the Tiger short story.

Tour Schedule

About the Author

Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairy tales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva)

Find her here: Website, Twitter

Creative Post

Giveaway

Prize: Tiger Queen poster and signed bookplate (US Only)

Starts: 4 Sept 2019

End: 13 Sept 2019

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s