Blog Tour, Reviews

Blog Tour (Review + Giveaway) for Realm of Knight by Jennifer Anne Davis

Hello! Welcome to my spot on the Good Choice Reading blog tour for Realm of Knights by Jennifer Anne Davis. Happy Book Birthday!

By Jennifer Anne Davis

Publisher: Reign Publishing

Release Date: 10 Sept 2019

Synopsis:

Reid has spent her whole life pretending to be a man so she can inherit her father’s estate, but when a chance encounter threatens to expose her lie, she is forced to risk everything.

In the kingdom of Marsden, women are subservient to men and land can only pass from father to son. So whe. RIED Ellington is born, the fifth daughter to one of the wealthiest landholders in the kingdom, it’s announced that Reid is a boy.

Eighteen years later, Reid struggles to conceal the fact she’s actually a young woman. Every day, her secret becomes harder to keep. When one of Marsden’s princes sees her sparring with a sword, she is forced to accept his offer and lead her father’s soliders to the border. Along the way, she discovers a coverg organization within the army known as the Knights of the Realm. If Reid wants to save her family from being arrested for treason and robbed of their inheritance, she will have to join the Knights and become a weapon for the crown.

To protect her family, Reid must fight like a man. To do that, she’ll need the courage of a woman.

Find it here: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Google Play

Review

Rating: πŸ›‘πŸ›‘πŸ›‘πŸ›‘πŸ›‘

I wasn’t sure I was going to like this book but I am glad that decided to give it a try and read it. I started the book on Sunday and finished it Monday afternoon, it usually takes me a while to finish books because I am slow reader and depending how the book can hold my attention. This story did keep me wanting to continue to read it.

The story sort of reminded me of Mulan but then difference is that Reid is forced to play the role of man because of her father not having a son heir passed his title and lands to upon his death. If anyone would find out that Lord Reid is Lady Reid, her father will be charged with treason and everything would be strip from her family so she has to be careful to play her role well. But there are complications when the royal Princes come knocking at her father’s door for assistance and one of the Prince find out she is actually women. They recruit her to help the King and the kingdom to fight their enemies. She finds out that nothing seems to be what she was told.

Reid remind me of Arya from Game of Thrones because of the way she carry herself and the way she was dedicated in her family. The story was fast paced and easy read but I would have like more world building. The ending of the book wasn’t what I expect but it was definitely a nice surprise.

Overall, I really enjoy the book and I am dying to know what happens in the next book with Reid and the rest of players in series.

Tour Schedule

Week 1:

September 2

Good Choice Reading – Promo

2 Rs blog – Review

Rockin’ Book Reviews – Review

September 3

We All Make Mistakes in Books – Review

September 4

Book Briefs – Review

Maiden of the Page – Promo

September 5

Jrsbookreviews – Review

September 6

Bucherfansite – Bucherfee vom Bodensee – Promo

Reads All the Books – Review

Week 2

September 9

Good Choice Reading – Review

September 10

Movies, Shows, & Books – Promo

Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Review

September 11

The Genre Minx Book Reviews – Promo

A Bookish Dream – Review

September 12

TMBA Corbett Tries to Write – Promo

September 13

Teatime and Books – Review

Bookwyrming Thoughts – Review

Giveaway

If you read Realm of Knights, let me know what you thought about.

Blog Tour, New Releases, Reviews

Blog Tour (Giveaway) – Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan Review & Creative Post

First, I would like to wish Annie Sullivan a happy book birthday on release of Tiger Queen!

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan. The tour is being hosted by Fantastic Fantasy Book Club.

By Annie Sullivan

Publisher: BLINK

Release Date: September 10, 2019

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling, Romance

Synopsis:

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will detour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her worldβ€”and heartβ€”upside down. Her future is now behind two doorsβ€”only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Find It: Goodreads, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Book Depository

Review

Rating: πŸ…πŸ…πŸ…πŸ…πŸ…

This story wasn’t what I was expecting, I was surprised to find the darker to be a little darker that I thought it would be but I like it. Since, I love A Touch of Gold by Annie I was hoping it would be in the same writing style and pace which it was.

The story is told by Kateri who is princess who lost her mother and sibling by murdered done by the Desert Boys at a young age. Her father not having male heir, needed to trained Kateri to fight for her place to lead the people of Achra. The way she would herself to be chosen by the Desert to the rightful leader of the kingdom was she had to go through trails to fight against male opponents who fight her to take her rightful place as leader. During all of this her people and kingdom is suffering for a drought and her father’s Had to restrict the water rations from his people.

Not only was Achra was suffering a drought, the king was fighting against the Desert Boys who were stealing from wells and supposedly draining them dry which cause the king to be stricter with the water rations which was causing more suffering for the people. Kateri had hatred for the Desert Boys because she was told by her father that they murdered her mother and her sibling which is something we find early in the story. Kateri disappoints her father after one of her matches because she gets weapon b the opponent even though she won the match, her father see it as weakeness against himself and his bloodline so he announced her next opponent and potential husband to be her trainer Rodric who is not a really nice person. I actually really dislike him and her father. So, Kateri seeks out the leader of the Desert Boys Cion to help trained to fight against Rodric. Without going into spoiler, basically Kateri finds out things are not what they seem in Achra and she has to figure out who she can really trust.

I think the description of the fighting scenes and the world building was done well in the book. Overall, it was good story and honestly I did not realize it was retelling because I never read The Lady, or the Tiger short story.

Tour Schedule

About the Author

Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairy tales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva)

Find her here: Website, Twitter

Creative Post

Giveaway

Prize: Tiger Queen poster and signed bookplate (US Only)

Starts: 4 Sept 2019

End: 13 Sept 2019

Blog Tour, Monthly TBR, New Releases

September 2019 TBR

For the month of September TBR, I am going to not have set TBR this month because I am not sure how much reading I will be able to do due to September is a really busy month at work but I do have several ARCs I have to read for blog tours. The following are some books that I want to read this month aside from the ARCs.

  • Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan (FFBC Blog Tour)
  • Realm of Knights by Jennifer Anne Davis (Good Choice Reading Blog Tour)
  • #murdertrending and #murderfunding by Gretchen McNeil (TBR and Beyond Group Read)
  • Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff
  • Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson (Dragon & Tea Book Club Buddy Read)
  • Capturing the Devil by Kerri Maniscalco
  • Crier’s War by Nina Varela (FFBC Blog Tour)

I definitely need the ARCs read for the blog tours and I really wanting to read Capturing the Devil, it is my most anticipated release for September.

Do you have any of these on your TBR this month?

Happy reading!

Monthly Wrap Up

August Wrap Up

I am late in posting my August Wrap Up! It was my birthday weekend (Aug 29 is day I was born) so took a couple of days to watch Season 2 and Season 3 of Stranger Things with hubby and then we headed to opening day of Ohio Renaissance Festival. I was a little busy this Labor Day weekend 😊. Below are the books I read this month, I didn’t read as many as I was hoping too but I did read the ones I wantee too.

I did buy a lot of books in August (22) and it not going to be better for September either.

Truly Devious: πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Final Girls: πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Grimoire Noir: πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Dare You to Lie (re-read): πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Don’t Say a Word (ARC): πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Have you read any of these books? What did you read in August and which one was your favorite?